Pages: [1]

I wrote some shit. Advice?

Seroim
  • Former Citizen
  • Sup, I just wrote what I think is an okay short story. I'm posting it here as spoilers for your enjoyment. I don't write much and I'm not too good at it, but I didn't have much to do today and I was bored. Give me any advice you see fit, I can take it all. Thanks.

Spoiler
    Well, just another day at the office. Or not exactly, as you'll find out.

I woke up at 6am yesterday, a Friday, took a shower, brushed my teeth, ate a quick breakfast, put on a white dress shirt, a colourful tie, conservative slacks and jacket, all the things professionals do. In these fields, it's all about appearance. I've often wished I could just come to work in a band t-shirt and jeans but nobody would respect me. A power dresser is immediately judged as competent and fit for success. I don't like power dressing, but I have to do it. One of the many sacrifices that come with the job.

I reached for my briefcase, put the briefs, forms and assorted documents I needed this day. A lawyer's work always travels with him. Nobody in my profession works just 40 hours a week like "normal people". We work massive overtime, and it's unpaid. Don't let all the shows about power lawyers winning crazy salaries fool you : if you break it down, unless you earn a truly massive salary, tradesmen usually earn more than you do per hour. They also don't have to deal with the fucked up shit we deal with. Lots of lawyers commit suicide. It's honestly not surprising.