Pages: [1] 2

Who is the person behind the screen?

Michi
  • Regional Stability Squad
  • Level 167 Caticorn God of Destruction
  • I think it'd be a great idea to get to know the person behind the screen a bit better, provided you feel comfortable sharing such information about yourself.

Here's some info about the person behind my screen:

My name is Max/Maxwell.  I live in Washington (state or D.C? You decide!).  For privacy reasons, I won't say what area/city.  On weekends, I work karaoke at a local bar.  I was very grateful because I had gotten the job purely by luck.  I had walked into the bar, never having gone in it before but hearing all about it, to sing some karaoke.  By the end, the DJ asked me what I did for a living, so I told him.  He asked me if I was interested in hosting karaoke, which was met with an enthusiastic yes.

He gave me his card, I called him the next day, and it was set; he trained me on the system, and now I work the weekends hosting.

Main career wise, I'm still looking.  I worked at Goodwill, but was let go because I wasn't fast enough.  Production standards there dictate that 50 items must be priced an hour.  This doesn't include cleaning items, bad items we get, testing items (for electronics), cleaning our bins if they're full of junk, or things like that.  Those all count against our numbers, so it becomes more and more impossible to achieve that 50.

It was satisfying to hear, however, that after I was let go that they had to have 2 people for my position.

Interest wise, I enjoy quite a bit of things.  I enjoy skiing, snowboarding, skating (ice and roller), biking, hiking, swimming, jump rope, pogo stick (a favorite that I haven't done in a while), video games, singing, dancing, and so on.  I have an open list because I like to try almost anything at least once in my life.